Special Projects Coordinator

Family:  Married 33 years to my Childhood sweetheart, 2 sons, 3 grandchildren.

Pets: Cat, “Cashmere”

Hobbies / how do you spend your spare time?  Riding motorcycles, writing poetry, reading.

Where were you born? Miami, FL

Education: Graduated Smith Station High, then attended LaGrange College

What was the most exciting thing that happened to you as a child?  I’ve been in a hurricane in Jupiter Florida and sat and watched the palms bend so far they touched the ground, and I watched a tornado coming straight for our store, when we lived south of West Palm Beach.  It veered right before it crossed the road in front of us and hit the cane field within a couple of hundred feet from us and picked up black dirt from the cane field, which let us follow the twister until it was out of the area.

What have you done that no one would guess you have done?

1. When I was a child, my parents traveled with the state fair (“Carnies”). My daddy was a “roustabout” (put rides together), my mother sold tickets. I remember sitting on the ledge inside of the ticket booth, while my mother sold tickets.

2.  My husband and I took 2 weeks and rode our motorcycles out to the Grand Canyon.  We went thru 9 states on the way out and 4 states on the way back.

What was your first job? Cash Clerk at Kmart (actually picked strawberries for a nickel a basket when I was 9).

Why do you work at NVI?  I love the work we do, and the people I work with, Staff and Associates. I feel that I am contributing significant value by helping New Ventures, Inc. provide important, vital services in my community.